What is believed to have been a Native American campsite, once full of arrowheads and other artifacts, is the latest addition to the Newburgh Park system. Indian Hill Overlook Park is open dawn to dusk daily from March 16to October 31.
Following almost four years of negotiations with the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers, the property on Hwy. 66 formerly known as the overlook, has been leased to the Town of Newburgh and will be improved, maintained, and policed by the town as a park and trailhead. The property, adjacent to the planned Rivertown Trail Greenway project, will be accessible to walkers, joggers, and bicyclists using what was once the drive leading to one of the area’s most unique homes, Indian Hill.
In 1933, Evansville attorney Paul H. Schmidt and his wife, Samuella, built a pueblo-style, $375,000, fourteen room home with foot thick walls and a striking view of the Ohio River. Their structure replaced a home built in 1924 which had been destroyed by fire. The Schmidts retained the pillars marking the entrance to the property from old Hwy. 66, and the name of the site, “Indian Hill,” which is carved into those pillars.
When construction for the new Locks & Dam 47 was begun by the Army Corps in 1966 at the site of Cypress Beach, the Schmidt property, perched high above the dam, was purchased. The Corps offered to sell the house, with the stipulation it be moved. Finding no takers, the house was razed in 1970. The Town of Newburgh is proud to partner with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to continue to offer this beautiful area to the citizens of our community and visitors.